Skip to content

Mallard Duck Makes An Ice Landing

January 30, 2012

On a recent winter’s day walk with my dog, I discovered mallard ducks love to congregate on the ice-covered pond at Mill Pond Park here in Rockport, Massachusetts. One morning a couple of weeks ago, I set out with my camera, sports lens, dog, and a bag of bird seed in hand. I was on a mission. Let’s just say I soon became the best friend of 50+ excited mallard ducks.

Strategy became everything to pull off the action shots that I set out to achieve. I walked the edge of the pond to find the best shooting position in the fading sunlight. I then tied my dog’s leash to my thigh, adjusted my camera settings, and let the bird seed fly! The mallard crowd quickly rejoiced in flight and this action shot was captured.

Mallard duck in flight at Mill Pond Park in Rockport, Massachusetts

Mallard duck coming in for an ice landing.

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Nikkor 70-200 mm f/2.8
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 200 mm, f/2.8, 1/2000 sec.

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

