Skip to content

Annisquam Lighthouse Goes Infrared

March 26, 2012

Annisquam Lighthouse with infrared filter applied.

This shot of Annisquam Lighthouse is a particular favorite of mine. I’ve loved it all the way back to its original capture in color. I remember well the day I took it. The weather was perfect and just kept getting better as I watched the clouds roll in to create a nice dramatic sky.

I’ve studied this shot from time to time over the last few years. (Yes, I took it in 2009.) My purpose has been to see if my eyes are consistently drawn to the same elements. I’m happy to say… yes!

Obviously the clouds speak for themselves. Then there’s the wavy sea grass… the rocky ledge… the curve of the shoreline… the position of both sun and shadows on the lighthouse… and that speed boat in the background.  After two years I wondered how could I reinvent the shot to make it something brand new. One answer came to mind — Infrared.

Infrared photography is the technique of capturing light not visible to the naked eye. This can be done at the time of capture with the appropriate camera equipment. But when an image already exists, such as the original color version of this shot, post production software can be used to create an infrared effect.

That’s what I used here. Specifically, Photoshop and Topaz B&W Effects.

Truly a nice combo.

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Nikkor 18-200 mm
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 20 mm, f/5.6, 1/1600 sec.

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

Leave a Reply

