Skip to content

Rockport Harbor — Sailboat Sunrise!

June 18, 2012
Sunrise over Rockport Harbor in Rockport, Massachusetts

Sailboat Sunrise

Rise and Shine!

It was 3:47 a.m. and I found myself wide awake. I had beaten my alarm clock by 13 minutes. There was a sunrise to catch!

I had already checked The Photographer’s Ephemeris program the night before. It told me sunrise time for June 15th in Rockport Harbor would occur at 5:03 a.m. I was ready for it.

Working Backwards…

Lucky for me, I live right here in Rockport, Massachusetts. Besides living in this gorgeous seaside town, I have the added bonus of being able to get to the harbor in minutes. But drive time is only one part of the equation for sunrise preparation.

Working backwards… sunrise… setup time… the “Blue Hour“… leave the house… alarm wakeup… 13 extra minutes was a real bonus! The dawning of a beautiful new day awaited me.

Composition

I love watching the transition from night into day… from darkness to the orange glow of sunrise.

With summer knocking at our door, it has been nice to see the sailboats returning to the outer harbor. I knew on this day that they needed to be a central part of my shot.

As I walked along the very end of T-Wharf, I could see the first hint of the sun begin to appear. It was then that I chose to align it with the masts of the boats.

It was a combination of the contrast, the orange light on the water, and the glow reflecting off the side of the other boat that spoke to me.

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Nikkor 18-200 mm
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 52 mm, f/7.1, 1/500 sec. (3 bracketed images, +/- 1 stop)

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

