Skip to content

Portland Head Light at Sunrise

August 20, 2012
Portland Head Lighthouse in Cape Elizabeth, Maine, at sunrise.

Portland Head Light at sunrise

Worth The Drive!

Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth, Maine, is well worth the drive to capture at sunrise! For me, it meant setting my alarm for 2:00 a.m. I had packed my camera equipment the night before and everything was ready to go. Although I didn’t get to bed until midnight, I was out the door by 2:30 a.m. and in front of the gates of Fort Williams Park by 4:38 a.m.

Momentary panic set in when I first arrived and found the gates closed. Patience paid off, however, as the gates opened just before 5:00 a.m. That gave me plenty of time to find my ideal shooting location, set up my tripod, and drink in the beauty of the “blue hour.”

Location, Location, Location!

You can photograph Portland Head Light from a number of different vantage points. In this particular shot, I was positioned north of the lighthouse and shooting south. I was mesmerized as I witnessed the early morning light transition from deep blue and gold to soft pastel hues of pink and lavender.

Embrace The Tide

On this day the tide was out — way out. This is not always the case, as the tide has its own life and schedule. I tend to embrace the tide at whatever height it is at, for this natural cycle is what makes coming back to this location rewarding each time. Sometimes there may be crashing waves; other times there may be fantastic texture, highlights and shadows. Wherever the sun’s golden rays touch — or are reflected — a new scene is painted waiting to be captured.

If you’re someone who wants to know ahead of time the cycle of the tide, you may like the Tide Graph app available for the iPhone. I’ve found it comes in quite handy.

Maine Coastline

Portland Head Light is just one of many lighthouses along the Maine Coastline. As I gradually make my way north along the rocky coast, I hope to photograph each of them. As I do, I will naturally share them with you here at New England Photography.

Until then, click here to see my different perspectives of Portland Head Light at sunrise.

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Nikkor 18-200 mm
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 42 mm, f/5.6, 1/25 sec., -2 EV, 3-image HDR (-1, 0, +1 Exposure Bias)

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2015 12:55 pm

    I’m from Portland from years ago, and a friend needed some resource material on light house. This shot was worth you getting up early. So beautiful. Nancy McAllister

Trackbacks

  1. Ram Island Ledge Lighthouse | New England Photography

Leave a Reply

