Skip to content

Hampton Beach – Heaven Shines A Light

August 27, 2012
The sun's rays shine down over the ocean at Hampton Beach, NH.

Heaven Shines A Light Over The Ocean

The “Other” Shot

Sometimes when you’re out to photograph something specific, something altogether different catches your eye. Such was the case this past winter while my camera and I were up at Hampton Beach in Hampton, New Hampshire, on a quest to capture an image of the Snowy Owl previously spotted there.

Heaven Sent

As I carefully scanned the dunes in the early morning hour for my fine feathered friend, I turned and looked over my shoulder. It was then that heaven chose to shine a light over the ocean. It was magical. I could have sworn I heard angels singing. Of course, that sound could have also been me. You see, when I turned back around, there he was. The snowy owl. What had been the subject of my search all along was right there in front of me. It was almost as if he had been heaven-sent. Then again… maybe he was.

Snowy Owls

Snowy owls are incredible creatures. I wish everyone could be as lucky as I to have seen one in the wild. Just another reason why I love New England!

Click here to read more about my search for the Hampton Beach Snowy Owl.

Moral of the Story

Even if shooting something specific, always remember to look around. There could be another subject altogether presenting itself to you. The challenge is whether or not you are astute enough to see it — and how creative your eye is when capturing it.

In this case, timing was everything — for the moment disappeared in an instant.

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Sigma 120-400 mm
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 120 mm, f/5.0, 1/800 sec., -1/3 EV

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 7:29 pm

    Great shot Liz! And I thought I was a procrastinator when it came to sharing my photos 😀 But wait, I haven’t shown any of mine, other than the owls, from that day either.

  2. LMP permalink*
    August 27, 2012 11:45 pm

    Thanks Jeff. That was a great day! Great to see my first snowy owl and great to have turned around when I did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

