Skip to content

Late Afternoon Reflection – Ossipee, New Hampshire

October 1, 2012
Fall foliage and dock reflect in a pond in Ossipee, New Hampshire

Foliage and dock reflection

A Quick Right

Sometimes a sudden right turn down an unfamiliar road can yield some extraordinary results. That’s exactly what happened when I took a brief detour off of Route 16 in Ossipee, New Hampshire. Who could have imagined that this amazing reflection would be there waiting for me?

Where Exactly?

If I had to take an educated guess (after looking at Google Maps), I believe this unexpected detour was actually on Pine Hill Road. I’m not totally positive though, so if I’m wrong, please forgive me.

I took this shot last October and wasn’t very familiar with the area at that time. I am, however, currently planning a new foliage trip for this year. On my ride back home, if time allows, I will take a drive down Pine Hill Road and see if I am indeed correct. If I’m not, well, no worries. According to Google Maps, there are two ponds down that road. The worst that can happen is that I discover something totally new and amazing to share with you.

Amazing Indeed

Rumor has it that Conner Pond, the larger pond at the end of Pine Hill Road with mountains in the background, featured a Sasquatch sighting in 1979. Myth or reality? I know what I think, but I’ll let you read Ed Parsons’ article and you can decide for yourself.

One way or another, exploring New England can lead to some fantastic discoveries!

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Nikkor 70-200 mm
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 125 mm, f/2.8, 1/320 sec.

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

