Skip to content

It Snowed. And That’s No Bull.

February 11, 2013
Highland cattle on the backroads of Vermont

You never know who you will meet on the backroads of Vermont.

Actually…

I believe this guy represents male Highland cattle, therefore that would indeed make him a bull. However, I really liked my pun for the title of this week’s “Single Shot Showcase” — especially after having shoveled this past weekend’s Blizzard of 2013 — so please forgive me.

Vermont Backroads

There’s always a worthwhile photo-op to be found on the backroads of Vermont. I always like traveling a bit off the beaten path. The best discoveries are made there. I stumbled upon this furry creature in a big field off a long, winding road. His large stature and striking color against the snow caught my eye.

Going For Eye Contact

As I gradually brought the car to a stop, the bull slowed his trek across the field. I patiently waited for him to move closer to the woodpile. When he stepped in front of the pile, I quietly exited the car. The bull noticed and came to a complete stop. As I slowly raised my camera, he turned his head and locked his eyes on me. I quickly composed and captured my shot. I knew I only had a moment before he would move out of position and change my composition.

This big beast captured my heart with his expressive eyes and gentle demeanor. Make sure to drive to the backroads of Vermont when visiting New England. You never know who you’ll meet along the way!

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Nikkor 70-200 mm
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 200 mm, f/2.8, 1/2000 sec.

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 6:35 pm

    It’s a Scottish Highlander. It’s a bull if it’s been castrated; a steer if no. From this angle you can’t tell. Did you shoot this on Trapp Hill Road?

    • LMP permalink*
      February 11, 2013 7:51 pm

      Thanks for the clarification Kate. Much appreciated. Unfortunately I don’t remember what road I was on. I was just meandering and stumbled upon him.

  2. February 12, 2013 11:37 am

    Great shot!!

Leave a Reply

