Skip to content

And Then Our Eyes Met…

March 4, 2013
A horse in the snow in Vermont.

And then our eyes met…

Making A New Friend

As I travel the backroads of New England, I never know whose path I will cross. On this winter day, my love of horses brought my car to a halt. There in a snowy, fenced-in field was a lone horse. I was instantly drawn to him.

My Approach

I slowly emerged from the car with camera in hand. As I walked towards the fence, I smiled and spoke softly to the horse. He watched me tentatively at first; then slowly began walking towards me. I kept my camera at my side while I worked to gain his trust. Before long he began to respond to my voice. He cautiously walked up to the fence and allowed me to pet him. He seemed a bit lonely and I think happy to now have some company.

Trust Is Earned — And Rewarded

I spoke to him softly for a while, before finally telling him the time had come for me to move on. Knowing I had earned his trust, it was only as I started to walk away that I turned and raised my camera. Smiling, I said, “I hope to see you again someday.”

His beautiful stance and direct eye contact was everything I hoped to capture. As you can see, his eyes spoke volumes. Though our time together was brief, I have no doubt that I made a new friend that day.

Photo Info:

Camera:  Nikon D300
Lens:  Nikkor 70-200 mm
Exif Data:  ISO 200, 170 mm, f/4.0, 1/1000 sec.

For Licensing Information or to Purchase A Print:  Email Me!

Come back every Monday to see my latest “Single Shot Showcase”!

~ Liz Mackney

Website
Blog
Facebook Page
Editor’s Pick Gallery

Proud Member of the New England Photography Guild 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2013 8:13 am

    Beautiful image Liz!

    • LMP permalink*
      March 4, 2013 8:16 am

      Thank you Donna. I fell in love with him!

Leave a Reply

